Its all about white ankles – Glaisedale to Robin Hood’s Bay


Day 13 beckons and it’s another sunny one…the team have their pebbles ready to throw into the North Sea, they picked them up on the beach of the Irish sea, Annie forgot hers…twit, but then Bodge and Camilla forgot to throw them in anyway so all a waste of time really.

I hate the North Yorkshire moor’s devilish cinder track which seems to have filled all the fresh water with horrid oily stuff, I felt very sick indeed this morning….but….Camilla feels sorry for me so I think it will be a two sausage breakfast, yum. 

Oily moor water, I feel sick

A bit of a drink at the Arncliffe Arms in Glaisedale meant the team did not leave on schedule, they hit the track at 09.45…this was largely due to a mix up on the bill, apparently the campers who had misdirected us the day before had left their double JD on our bill!!!!  Ummmm I will have barks with them later.

I am promised babblers all day today so grand news for swimming, more so than I thought as Bodge pulled a fast one and made me slip into a very deep river, woof back at ya Bodge I can swim as it happens, bit of a shock tho’…

Cream teas missed I take a swim

Cream teas at Midge Hall, several other four leggers there, all of us shoved out of the kitchen and tied to our benches, how dull is that.  Camilla pushed a full cream tea down without a crumb being thrown in my direction, no matter Midge is right next to one of the biggest waterfalls you can see in Yorkshire, Falling Fosse, so I had plenty more swimming to do. 

We strode on across Sleight moor, getting lost along the way, well done Camilla a consistent approach is to be admired.  Picnic beckoned at 16.00 hrs as folk were hungry, AND SO WAS I, steak pie for me – delicious.  Another four miles to go across a bit of a bog and then across the coastal path and we were there.  Robin Hood’s Bay, toes in the sea, Wainwright’s bar and a huge fish and chip supper for them, go team yeah….nothing for me!

We met up with lots of fellow walkers at the Bay, photos to follow, all very exciting, bark bark.  I was a bit tearful as two of our walking companions did not meet up with us at Robin Hood’s bay, Nurse Betty and Nurse Neoprene who were fundraising for the Alzheimer’s society.  I used to bark to show them the way….they thought I was very handsome, good luck girls!  (Update they wrote and told me how sorry they were and that they were very sad to have missed me!)

We made it...no blisters

Well that was that, ummm, except they needed to celebrate so we all taxied to Whitby what luxury. Did they go to look at and admire the James Cook museum ?  Perhaps a stroll to the marina?  Even a visit to the Dracula museum?  …No, the chosen venue was a vile Karoke bar instead, those beer bellied chaps with trouser topping undercrackers made an appearance again, had the Epsom Derby crowd moved up here?  Dear goodness I want to go home now…

One Response

  1. Rufus, Camilla, Annie and Bodge- you were all stars!!! Have really enjoyed reading about your adventures Rufus – life takes on a new meaning from a dog’s eye view.
    Happy travels to you all…
    Lots of Love
    Nurse Betty and Nurse Neoprene
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

